Skip to main content

The Graham Sustainability Institute is pleased to announce the newly formed Graham Sustainability Scholars Alumni Advisory Council. Established in 2023, this council consists of alumni from the Graham Sustainability Scholars Program, reflecting the institute's mission to mobilize the expertise and passion of scholars, partners, and decision-makers to work together and bring world-class research to real-world sustainability challenges.

A long-running initiative of the institute, the Graham Sustainability Scholars Program has played a vital role in nurturing sustainability leadership, fostering professional skills, and providing hands-on experiences for undergraduates at the University of Michigan.

Its alumni council serves several important functions, including providing feedback and support to the program, representing alumni interests to the institute, and fostering professional development for students and alumni. Additionally, the council seeks to connect with the broader alumni community and establish mentorship networks.

Representing a diverse range of graduating years, academic majors, and professional backgrounds, the council's founding members include:

Oliver Harfield

Oliver Harfield ’17
Public Policy Candidate, Harvard Kennedy School

Kendra Kleber

Kendra Kleber ’23
Research Scientist, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Patrick Lau

Patrick Lau ’14
Environmental Policy Analyst, US EPA

KT Michaelson

KT Michaelson ’12
Climate Strategy Senior Manager, Starbucks

Joe Murray

Joe Murray ’16
Regional Director of Development, University of Michigan

Andrea Paine

Andrea Paine ’16
Program Coordinator, Huron River Watershed Council


Hannah Sherman

Hannah Sherman ’16
Sustainability Manager, Rothy’s


Kara Steshetz

Kara Steshetz ’20
Product Development Engineer, Procter & Gamble


Ayako Tischler

Ayako Tischler ’20
Water Utility Analyst, Moonshot Missions


Learn more about the council members at For more information about the Graham Sustainability Scholars Program and the Alumni Council, visit