Thirty-four outstanding graduate students from 10 University of Michigan (U-M) schools and colleges have been named 2021 Dow Sustainability Fellows.

Each Dow Sustainability Fellow will receive a $20,000 stipend, along with sustainability skills-development opportunities and professional experience working on a team with an external client. The Dow Sustainability Fellows Program is among the most prestigious and productive co-curricular graduate programs at U-M.

Now in its ninth cycle, the Program is designed to support the next generation of sustainability leaders in business, government, and nonprofits by promoting interdisciplinary and collaborative engagement. Fellows are selected through a competitive process from a pool of applicants nominated by their academic units.

This cohort will participate in the program through December 2021. In the process, the Fellows will solve real-world sustainability challenges for client organizations ranging from The Nature Conservancy to the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes and Energy.

“We are thrilled to welcome a wonderful new cohort of Dow Sustainability Fellows into this highly competitive program,” said Margaret Wooldridge, Dow Sustainability Fellows Program Director and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor in the College of Engineering. “The 2021 Fellows join a community of over 900 current students and alumni supported by the Dow Sustainability Program at U-M. These students have demonstrated their exceptional commitment to sustainability, and our Dow Fellows have continued to promote a more sustainable future in their lives after graduation.”  

The 2021 Dow Fellows and their nominating schools (in bold) are listed below. Among this cohort, 13 Fellows are dual majors, indicated in parentheses.

  • Architecture & Urban Planning: Alicia Adams, Charlotte Burch, Aaron Cohen, Talia Moretti, Rebeka Rooks, Clayton Prescott Trudeau
  • Business: Adam Leemans, Marisa Zelip
  • Education: Peter Siciliano (SEAS)
  • Engineering: Sofia Camarero (SEAS), Andrew Hoyt, Rachel Kaup (SEAS), Andrew Timmins (SEAS)
  • Environment & Sustainability: Naomi Barker (Ross), Kathryn Barr, Celia Bravard (Ross), María Dabrowski, Maeghen Goode (Architecture & Urban Planning), Linnet Leon (Ross), Jeffrey Manner (Engineering), Jessica Vega-Perkins, Wanja Waweru
  • Law: Shannon Nelson (SPH), Hannah Paton, Matt Piggins
  • Medicine: Lia Delaney (Public Health), Alexandria Kolenda, Simona Martin
  • Public Health: Lindsay Green
  • Public Policy: Kristina Curtiss, Tyler Orcutt (SEAS), Javier Piñeiro, Anna Seifert
  • Social Work: Olivia Stillman (Architecture & Urban Planning)

For more information, visit