Graham Sustainability Institute

Welcome New Graham Doctoral Fellows

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Congratulations to the following seven Ph.D. candidates who were recently accepted into the Graham Environmental Sustainability Institute's Doctoral Fellowship Program. As recipients of this honor, each Graham Doctoral Fellow receives $25,000 per year for two years to help support their doctoral research related to sustainability.

2010 Graham Fellows & Research Titles (as shown in photo)

Paul Coseo, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
Research: Green Alleys:  The Design of Sustainable Infrastructure, its Usefulness in Urban Heat Island Nitigation, and the Adaptation of Urban Landscapes in Chicago

Sherri Cook, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Research: Waste Resource Recovery System Sustainability: Performance & Reliability of Codigestion

Darshan Karwat, College of Engineering, Aerospace Engineering
Research:  On Jet fuel and Biofuel Emissions: Combustion, Atmospheric Chemistry and Environmental Policy

Laura Smith, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
Research:  Buildings as Environmental Educators: A Question of Engagement

Laura Sherman, LS&A, Geology Science
Research:  Use of mercury isotopes to trace anthropogenic mercury emissions from coal combustion into ecosystems

Krista Gullo, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Research: Beyond Myth and Ceremony: The Role of Professional Networks in Corporate Response to Climate Change

Michelle Price, LS&A, Applied Physics and Department of Chemistry
Research:  Microwave Photoconductivity Measurements of Organic Semiconductor Single Crystals and Polycrystalline Films via Subdiffraction Focusing with Near Field Plates

(Michelle Price is missing from the group photograph.)